Saturday, June 14, 2014

Between a Monocot and a Dicot

Bamboo species at the background, Jering trunk at the foreground.
Bamboo = Monocotyledon (monocot)
Jering = Dicotyledon (dicot)
Location : Zone G

 In the classification of the plant world or kingdom, plants bearing seeds are divided into two main categories- Gymnosperms (seed plants without flowers e.g. cycads, conifers); and Angiosperms (seed plants with flowers).  The Angiosperms are divided into Monocotyledon (monocot) and Dicotyledon (dicot).  Monocots are flowering plant with one seed leaf at germination stage and Dicots are flowering plants with two seed leaves.  In the above picture the Bamboo belongs to the monocots which have parallel-veined leaves as in the grasses, bamboos and palms.  In this group of plants new shoots are typicaclly produced from the base or rhizomes, tubers or bulbs.  Dicots on the other hand have veins that form a net-like pattern on the leaves.  Dicots typically have bark-cambium-wood organisation.  The Jering (Malay) - Pithecolobium lobatum is a good example of a dicot.
Nibong (Malay) - a palm that grows wild at Zone C
Family : Palmae - Palm family
A monocot example

No comments:

Post a Comment